Accolades, News, and Information

Today's Virtual Open House

Welcome to the 2020-2021 school year once again!
NHRMS is off to a great start!
We would like to thank our
teachers and staff for all of their remarkable efforts.
We would also like to thank you, the parents and guardians,
for all of your support during these unprecedented times.
Together, we all make a great team!  

Our Virtual Open House is Thursday evening, September 24th.
This is an opportunity for you to get to know your child’s teachers, become familiar with curriculum, and to ask questions about our programs.  There will be opportunities for you to join live Google Meets with the teachers, administration, and related support personnel. 

Please use the student chromebooks during open house to help with entering the google meets and identifying who is participating.

Below is a link that will give you basic information about
the Open House- please click on the link to view. 


Open House Schedule and Links

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

Click for
NHRMS Reopen Plan 2020


SCHOOL REOPENING VIDEO TOURS:
Middle School

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

Email link below to

Report an Absence
or
Note for Main Office

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀


Teacher of the Year

Carl Mayhew
Mr. Carl Mayhew

Here are some excerpts from his nomination:

Carl is always finding ways to encourage, and engage all his students.
He is a tremendous role model.
He not only is a fabulous teacher at NHRMS but he is the boys soccer coach as well. He volunteers his time at dances and attends all extra-curricular activities with pleasure. He has gone out of his way to attend children's soccer events that are not school related.
Mr. Mayhew engages and connects with his students in the classroom.
Shows kindness, respect, and genuine care for a child.
He demonstrates patience and understanding with all students’ needs.



Support Staff
Person of the
 Year

A Delaney
Ms. Ashley Delaney
Paraprofessional


Here is a sampling of the comments in her nominations:

Professional, Responsible, Dedicated
Hard working, Outstanding
Extremely dedicated to the students.
She finds the balance between holding our students accountable,
yet being approachable and caring.
Ms. Delaney goes out of her way to make connections with students.
She is a rock star!
Perseveres with challenging students.
Problem solving approach, rather than assigning blame.
Skilled in modifications and accommodations for students.
Offers valuable insight to student performance in class.
Actively involved in school activities.
Valuable team member.
Effective communication skills between staff members.
She goes above and beyond to make sure all of the support 
staff feels secure in their role.s
Collaborating with administration to create a professional
resource for para-educators.  
Offers resources to staff and teaches skills to others.
Supportive and helpful to all the staff.

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

PAST News
AND
ACCOLADES BELOW

 

Honor Roll

2020 ~  3rd Trimester

High Honors
Honors

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

Promotion
Congratulations!

2020 Promotion Video

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

 

Virtual Art Gallery

4th and 5th Grade



6th, 7th, & 8th Grade

 

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

Project "O"
Click on the links below
to see all the action and fun
that is part of Project "O"

Group "1" Video
Group "2" Video
Group "5" Video

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀


We Are Here For You


STAFF APPRECIATION FROM STUDENTS



6TH GRADE TEACHERS FOR STUDENTS


TEACHERS AND STAFF FOR OUR STUDENTS


▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

Connecticut History Day 

Outstanding Entry Award
AM
Abigail Martin

AM Award
AM Project
---------------------------

Congratulations go out to the following students who
competed in the Regional competition in March.
They were top winners in their category and moved on 
to the state competition. 
Winners
S. Brown, A. Martin, C. Tarnowski, C. Valli, B. Shizume

1st place: 
Chelsea Valli, Paper,
Goodspeed Opera House 
Isabella Fitzpatrick and Abigail Watkins,
Website,
The Great Depression:
The End of Child Labor in Connecticut
 
Catherine Tarnowski, Exhibit
Joann Morgan: I’ve Got Rocket Fuel in my Blood

2nd place:
Samuel Brown, Website, Tokugawa Ieyasu 
Lily Jahne and Delila Herold, Documentary,
Women Spies, 
Revolutionary War

3rd place:
Abigail Martin, Exhibit, Mystic Massacre 
Braeden Shizume, Website, Beethoven 

NHD Group
Ms. Bernard, L. Jahne, C. Valli, I. Fitzpatrick, A. Watkins
A. Martin, B. Shizume, S. Brown 
Missing from photo: D. Herold, C. Tarnowski

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀


CT Interscholastic Athletic Conference Unified Sports

2019-2020
The Mike Savage Exemplary Unified Teammate Award


Omar
Co-Winners 
Omar Lopez-Crespo and Galaxy Weiss
In recognition of outstanding dedication and sportsmanship
G. Weiss


▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

2020 Peace Poster Winners

Nicole
Nicole Wang

Natalie
Natalie Dorr

Erin
Erin Maniebo

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

2020
invention
5th grader, Kaelyn Cambi is competing in the first Virtual State Competition for Connecticut Invention Convention.  

Kaelyn spent endless hours during this distance learning, on top of her assigned classes, to put forth her idea…The Safe-TEE.


This innovative shirt is for children under the age of 14. She learned that three children die every day due to drowning and wanted to find a way to stop that tragedy. She spent hours researching how life jackets work, did experiments to understand monomers and polymers in nylon work, and combined the two ideas in one shirt.

Her idea is for parents on the go. This shirt would be worn prior to any interaction with water. Parents sometimes lose sight of their child. If the child accidentally fell in the water, this fun and comfortable shirt would inflate using a carbon dioxide release to fill the inflatable tubes inside the shirt, and raise the child’s head above the water.

Good Luck Kaelyn!

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀


National History Day 2020

NHD
Congratulations to the following students for their success
at Saturday’s National History Day regional finals in Norwich. 
They will move on to compete at States on May 2nd 


1st Place Overall

Cate Tarnowski, Exhibit, Joann Morgan – I’ve Got Rocket Fuel in my Blood – Grade 7

Chelsea Valli, Paper, Goodspeed Opera House – Grade 8

Isabella Fitzpatrick and Abigail Watkins, Website, The Great Depression: The End of Child Labor in Connecticut – Grade 8

 

2nd Place – Overall

Sam Brown, Website, Tokugawa Ieyasu – Grade 7

Lily Jayne and Delila Herold, Documentary, Women Spies, Revolutionary War – Grade 6

 

3rd Place – Overall

Abby Martin, Exhibit, Mystic Massacre – Grade 7

Braeden Shizume. Website, Beethoven – Grade 8

 

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀


2020 Geography Bee Winner

Sam Brown
Two years running!

Geo2020

GeoFinal2020
Final question......
Group2020
The entire group getting ready for the start

The competitors were
Arwen Little, Sydney Jandreau
Trevor Phaneuf, Connor Kittleman 
Jonathan Smith, Sam Brown
Braeden Shizume, Sadie Herold, Ziggy Matthews

Great job everyone!
=======================


R & M
Click below for school

Summer Reading and Math Information Packet

Summer Reading Bingo Card

▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

announce

Click on the desired date below

Friday, June 12 -- Thursday, June 11
Wednesday, June 10 -- Tuesday, June 9
Monday,  June 8 -- Friday, June 5
Thursday, June 4 -- Wednesday, June 3
Tuesday, June 2 -- Monday, June 1
Friday, May 29 -- Thursday, May 28
Wednesday, May 27 -- Tuesday, May 26 
Friday, May 22 -- Thursday, May 21
Wednesday, May 20 -- Tuesday, May 19
Monday, May 18 -- Friday, May 15
Thursday, May 14 -- Wednesday,May 13
Tuesday,May 12 -- Monday, May 11
Friday, May 8 -- Thursday, May 7
Wednesday, May 6 -- Tuesday, May 5
Monday, May 4 -- Friday, May 1 

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29 -- Tuesday, April 28
Monday, April 27 -- Friday, April 24
Thursday, April 23 -- Wednesday, April 22
Tuesday, April 21 -- Monday, April 20
Friday, April 17
 -- Thursday, April 16
Wednesday, April 15 -- Tuesday, April 14
Monday, April 13 -- Thursday, April 9
Wednesday, April 8 -- Tuesday, April 7
Monday, April 6 -- Friday, April 3
Thursday, April 2 -- Wednesday, April 1 

Tuesday, March 31
 -- 
Monday, March 30  
Friday, March 27 --Thursday, March 26  
Wednesday, March 25

====================


National Poetry Month

Please select a poem below to hear it being read

Wild Geese by Mary Oliver
read by Ms. Delaney


The Sea by Shirley Fudge
read by Ms. Rovetti

Early Bird by Shel Silverstein
read by Ms. Matthews


Attitude by Charles Swindoll
read by Ms. Vogl

Tomorrow, At Dawn by Victor Hugo
read by Ms. Plante

====================


Prize Patrol
WTNH ~ 6th grade Prize Patrol Video
▶▶▶▶▶▶▶◀◀◀◀◀◀◀

Principal's Message

2020-2021 School Year

Our first day of school is September 1st. The staff is working hard to get the building in perfect condition for the students.

Due to the pandemic, access to the school is limited this summer. You are welcome to stop by the main office to drop off materials any day 8am – 3pm.  

Later this summer, we will provide information for incoming 4th grade students as part of the transition to visit the classrooms and to receive locker assignments and combinations.

I would like to thank everyone for their support of our middle school this past year and for your patience during the distance learning experience. We have a school-based and district “Re-opening Committees” meeting regularly to plan for the fall. We are creating a comprehensive plan to ensure a safe learning environment for the fall.

MPAC (Middle school Principal Advisory Council) is actively seeking new members and volunteers. This dedicated group of parents will host conversations on topics such as bullying, internet safety, school nutrition, cultural arts, and other day-to-day operations. You can find information about MPAC such as how to join or when the meetings are by accessing the link on our website.   

If you have any questions or concerns, do not hesitate to email me at jason.peacock@easthaddamschools.org


 

Policy